Malcolm Phillips Memorial 5km – 4pm Saturday 9th May 2020 – Postponed – New Date TBC
  • Main page
  • Our Races
  • Malcolm Phillips Memorial 5km – 4pm Saturday 9th May 2020 – Postponed – New Date TBC

The 2020 Race due to be held on Sat 9th May 2020 has been postponed and will be rescheduled at a date to be confirmed

Malcolm Phillips 5K – Sat 11th May 2019 – Results

The 2019 Malcolm Phillips 5k race was held on Sat 11th May 2019 in very warm conditions.  97 runners turned up for this iconic age graded race.  Craig Downie led the runners home in 18 mins 26 secs and was also the first in the age graded mens results with an age adjusted time of 15 Mins 21 Secs.  In the ladies Megumi Matsui led the ladies home in 19 mins 24 Secs but it was Gillian Castka who won the ladies with an age adjusted time of 18 Mins 16 Secs.  Big thanks to Elaine Hall and Derek Irwin as co-race directors in ensuring everything ran smoothly and a big thanks also to the many volunteers from AVOHK and HKLRRC who provided that necessary support.  Cindy was on hand to present the prizes.

Results:  Click Here for Results

2017 Malcolm Phillips 5k – Results  2017-malcolm-phillips-results

AVOHK  organise this historic event in conjunction with the HKLRRC in memory of long time AVOHK and Ladies Road Runners member Malcolm Phillips, who so sadly died in May 2006.  Malcolm was a great AVOHK supporter and active member, both participating in races and as an organiser. He is so sorely missed by all but especially by the running community. Malcolm is always in our thoughts.

The Malcolm Phillips Memorial 5km is an age graded 5km.  The inaugural race was held at 4.00 pm, March 17th 2007 at Wanchai Gap.   The 2008 Race was held on May 10th at Wanchai Gap Playground, on the same 5km course as 2007 and the results once again were age graded. Rachel Sproston and Stefano Pasarello took the honours both overall and once graded, they were too fast for the oldsters despite  the age adjusted times.

The 2009 race heralded  a change of venue – Bowen Road, safer and more suitable for the early Summer weather.  The course is an  accurate 5km and is the same as the AVOHK 5km race held in the autumn.  Winners were Keith Chan and Gillian Castka.

2010 race tested out the online entry system which proved a hit with runners.  The race was well attended and won by Phil Booth and Sally Brown.

2011 race was held on Sat 7th May.

2012 race was held on Sat 26 May at Pak Tam Chung, a different course and a chance to enjoy the scenery at High Island Reservoir.

2013 race was held on Sat 11th May  Bowen Road

2014 race was held on Sat 31st May Bowen Road

2015 race was held on Sat 2nd May Bowen Road

2016 race was held on Sat 14th May Bowen Road


Race starts at 4pm

Please arrive at 3.30pm on race day to collect your number bib and warm up.  If the Thunderstorm warning is raised we will make a decision as to whether or not to hold the race, It will be cancelled  if the red or black rain storm warning is raised.  The entry list will be posted one week before the race on AVOHK website.  Remember the results are age graded so all times are adjusted after finishing to compile the age graded results.  Please therefore make sure you stay for the awards ceremony –  The results will change from the actual finish order.  Top 5 age graded winners in both male and female category will receive prizes.

Water at start and finish

Please contact Derek Irwin (6730 2324) or Elaine Hall (9131 0667) if you can help at the race, they need several on course marshals, number bib distributors, results recorders and finish line marshals pre race transport of water to the start.  EMail: bigmalavohk@gmail.com

2014 Results


Mal Phillips Memorial Run – Overall Results
Mal Phillips Memorial Run – Men Ressults
Mal Phillips Memorial Run – Ladies Results


2015 Results

2016 Results